Now Accepting Nominations for 2019 Awards

2019 IALEIA Awards Program 

Note: The deadline for nominations for the 2019 IALEIA Awards is 5:00 PM (Pacific Time) January 11, 2019. 

Categories and Criteria
Category 1. IALEIA Award for Excellence: Organization. To the Local, State/Provincial/Regional, or National/International level Organization, Agency, Department, Unit, or Task Force making the most significant progress utilizing intelligence analytical techniques to support agency objectives. Three awards: one each for local, state/provincial/regional, and national/international levels. Criteria:

a.            Enhanced effectiveness of the investigative effort.

b.            Improvements in the processing of intelligence data.

c.            Innovation in integrating intelligence functions into investigative operations.

Category 2. IALEIA Award for Excellence: Individual. To individuals for outstanding contributions as intelligence analysts, investigators, or prosecutors utilizing intelligence products leading to the achievement of agency objectives. Work products may include publications, investigative support materials, threat assessments, and innovative training curricula. Up to six awards. Criteria:

a.         Initiative and perseverance in stimulating interest of analysts, investigators or prosecutors through analysis or    crime activity.

b.         Sophistication and diligence in using analytical techniques in support of investigations.

c.         Innovation in the development of graphical techniques for presentation of complex cases for investigators, attorneys, or court.

d.         Effectiveness in coordinating the planning of intelligence support analysis with investigative case management.

e.         Provision of tactical or strategic coverage to areas not previously served or served inadequately.

f.          Significance of the outstanding contribution to law enforcement efforts.

Category 3. IALEIA Award for Excellence: Executive or Supervisor. To an executive or supervisor for outstanding support and recognition of the intelligence analysis function. One award. Criteria: Noteworthy support of how the individual applied, organized, or used analysts and intelligence in support of agency objectives.

General Instructions for Nominations
Each application must be accompanied by two letters of nomination that contain detailed documentation of the criteria above. Self-nomination is not allowed. Submissions must have the permission of the agency or company for which the analytical work was done. Nominators and nominees need not be IALEIA members or affiliated with IALEIA at the time of submission, but must become IALEIA members before the evaluation/scoring process is completed. Organizations or individuals cannot receive the same award in more than two consecutive years for the same publication (e.g. different issues of the same periodical). Telephone and fax numbers, e-mail addresses and mailing addresses of the nominee and the persons submitting the nomination must be provided. Nomination packets in Adobe (pdf) or Word (doc or docx) are preferred.

Send one copy of all materials by regular mail or one electronic copy via e-mail. Mailed nominations must be postmarked no later than January 11, 2019. E-mailed nominations must be received by 5:00 PM (Pacific Time).

Las Vegas Metropolitan PD
Attn: John Smith, P#8705
Theft Crimes Bureau, Building A
400 S. Martin Luther King Blvd,
Las Vegas, Nevada  89106

Questions may be directed to Mr. John Smith, Chair, IALEIA Awards Committee, at 702-828-4577 (desk) or 702-544-9108 (cell) or email:

The deadline for nominations for the 2019 IALEIA Awards is 5:00 PM (Pacific Time) January 11, 2019.